Many thanks to all of the entrants who submitted poems into the various categories of Wigtown Poetry Prize 2021.


We are delighted to announce the shortlists as follows:


Wigtown Prize


Deborah Moffatt

Eoghan Stiubhart

Basil du Toit

Kathleen Jones

Mark Gallacher

Vanessa Lampert

Damen O'Brien

Esa Aldegheri 

Mary Wight

Tammy Swift-Adams

William Bonar

Lesley Benzie

Jon Miller

Anne Hay

Jonathan Greenhause

Amaury Wonderling

Belinda Michelle Stoll



Wigtown Scottish Gaelic Prize


Caroline Bennett

Deborah Moffatt

Eoghan Stiubhart x 2 entries

Mairi MacLeod

Gillebride MacMillan



Wigtown Scots Prize


William Hershaw

Robert Duncan

Craig Aitchison

Lynn Valentine

George T. Watt

Lesley Benzie



Dumfries & Galloway Fresh Voice Award


Mark Thomas

Carolyn Yates

Lydia McMillan

Andrew Latimer



Alastair Reid Pamphlet Prize


Kathleen Jones

Nigel Pantling

Ann Craig

Jane McKie

Jill Abram

Basil du Toit




The winners and runners-up will be announced on 10 September 2021, with the Prize Giving event taking place at Wigtown Book Festival on Saturday 2 October.   Tickets can be booked here.